f

Verbier Art Residency

Date

2021

Lieu

Verbier, Switzerland

Description

Fragmentin seront les prochains artistes en résidence de la Fondation 3-D de Verbier. Dans le passé, 3D-Verbier a accueilli des artistes locaux et internationaux tels que : Olaf Breuning, Eve Laroche-Joubert, James Capper, Philip Samartzis, Chloe Dewe Mathews, Karsten Födinger ou Gramazio Kohler.

Pendant la résidence, nous nous concentrerons sur le développement d'une œuvre sculpturale examinant les thèmes de l'eau et des préoccupations climatiques en s'inspirant des matériaux, des technologies et des connaissances écologiques locales.

Une première visite du site est prévue en septembre et la résidence s'étalera sur un mois en avril 2022, suivie d'une exposition en plein air de deux ans dans le parc à sculptures de Verbier.

En travaillant avec la curatrice Alexa Jeanne Kusber et le curateur Paul Goodwin, nous collaborerons avec des glaciologues, des universitaires et la communauté locale pour poursuivre notre recherche derrière le concept "d'Obsologie" - un néologisme provenant d'un mélange des mots obsolescence et archéologie traitant de l'archéologie post-numérique.

Comment les futurs archéologues nous étudieront-ils ? Nos considérations sur des questions telles que la numérisation et la crise climatique seront-elles toujours d'actualité ? Quelles traces resteront pour que les générations futures se souviennent des nôtres ? Et sous quelle forme ?

Global Wiring - Mockup 1:20

21 Septembre 2021

Site visit and meetings with locals

22 Septembre 2021

Hike on Glacier de Corbassière

Contact

Fragmentin
C/O univercité #208
Chemin du Closel 5
1020 Renens, CH


mailInstaVimeo Map

Merci

Merci

Foundation Vaudoise pour la Culture
Swiss Cultural Fund UK
Pro Helvetia
Art Foundation Pax
Canton de Vaud
Ville de Lausanne
Ville de Renens
Migros pourcent culturel
Arts at CERN
Hospitalité artistique de Saint-François

f

Verbier Art Residency

Date

2021

Location

Verbier, Switzerland

Description

Fragmentin is the upcoming Artists-in-Residence at the Verbier 3-D Foundation. In the past 3D-Verbier has welcomed local and international artists such as: Olaf Breuning, Eve Laroche-Joubert, James Capper, Philip Samartzis, Chloe Dewe Mathews, Karsten Födinger or Gramazio Kohler. 

During the residency we will focus on the development of a sculptural work examining the global topics of water and climate concerns inspired by the materials, technologies and ecological knowledge sourced from the surrounding landscape of Verbier, Switzerland.

While we have a first site visit planned in September, the residency is planned for a one month duration in April 2022, followed by a 2-year open air exhibition in their sculpture park and education programme.

Working with curators Alexa Jeanne Kusber and Paul Goodwin, we will collaborate with glaciologists, academics and the local community to continue our research behind the concept of Obsology - a neologism coming from a mix of the words obsolescence and archaeology with a focus on the topic of Post-digital archaeology. 

How will future archaeologists study us? Will our considerations on issues such as digitalization and the climate crisis last ? What traces will be left over for future generations to remember ours ? And in which form?

Global Wiring - Mockup 1:20

Contact

Fragmentin
C/O univercité #208
Chemin du Closel 5
1020 Renens, CH


mailInstaVimeo Map

Thanks

Thanks

Foundation Vaudoise pour la Culture
Swiss Cultural Fund UK
Pro Helvetia
Art Foundation Pax
Canton de Vaud
Ville de Lausanne
Ville de Renens
Migros pourcent culturel
Arts at CERN
Hospitalité artistique de Saint-François