f

Biographie

Fragmentin est un collectif d’artistes basé à Lausanne, Suisse, fondé en 2014 et aujourd’hui composé de trois artistes formé-e-s à l’ECAL (Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne): Laura Perrenoud (*1991, Lausanne), David Colombini (*1989, Lausanne) et Marc Dubois (*1985, Bâle).

Au croisement de l’art et de l’ingénierie, Fragmentin questionne l’impact des technologies sur notre quotidien, en particulier leur vocation à le contrôler. Les oeuvres de Fragmentin sont souvent pensées comme des espaces de discussion sur des thèmes et enjeux contemporains cruciaux tel que le changement climatique.

Ainsi, à travers l'installation, la vidéo, l’interaction ou la performance, les travaux du collectif Fragmentin démystifient des systèmes complexes et révèlent les tensions engendrées par les technologies émergentes: des participants entraînés dans une chorégraphie dystopique dictée par une voix qui leur donne des ordres dans le cadre d’une expérience qui questionne le médium de la réalité virtuelle (2199, 2016). Une sculpture météorologique connectée à une web app amenant de l'aléatoire dans la vie numérique de l’utilisateur en altérant ses selfies en fonction du niveau de pollution ou en jouant de la musique en accord avec le rythme de la pluie (The Weather Followers, 2017). Un atrium où les visiteurs peuvent voir tomber la pluie tantôt de manière aléatoire tantôt organisée en motifs géométriques; le bassin est synchronisé à deux écrans diffusant des événements notoires d’ensemencement de nuage. (Displuvium, 2019). Un smartphone exposé à des températures extrêmes réfléchissant à sa propre survie dans un contexte de réchauffement climatique (Your phone needs to cool down, 2019). Une oeuvre en ligne diffusant des d’images chimériques et indéchiffrables en constante évolution et agrégeant à l’aide de filtres les cinq vidéos les plus visionnées de youtube sur un champ sémantique défini par les artistes (burningcollection.tv, 2020).  Une sculpture pyramidale et expérience de réalité virtuelle - se déroulant au sommet du mont Schlüchtli (2283m) - questionne l'intégration des technologies numériques et infrastructurelles dans le paysage alpin (N1-Observatory, 2020) et enfin : une série d'images de synthèse et de vidéos génératives sur le thème de l'obsolescence technologique et de l'archéologie post-numérique (Obsology, 2021).

Le trio a exposé en Suisse à la Haus der elektronischen Künste HeK (Bâle, CH), Kunsthalle Zurich (Zürich, CH), à la NOV gallery (Genève, CH), au Mapping Festival (Genève, CH), à la biennale de Land Art: Art Safiental (Tenna, CH) et à la Becque (La-Tour-De-Peilz, CH). Fragmentin a également exposé internationalement au ZKM (Karlsruhe, DE), au Jeu de Paume (Paris, FR), au Kunstraum (Vienne, Au), au Centre Culturel Suisse (Paris, France), à la Quadriennale d’art et performance de Prague (Prague, CZ), au Mirage Festival (Lyon, FR), au festival Getxophoto à Bilbao (Espagne), au festival Cairotronica (Égypte) au Shenzhen media art festival (China), à la Cello Factory Gallery (London, UK), National Theatre (Londres, UK) et à la York Art Gallery (York, UK).

Plusieurs institutions ont fait l’acquisition des oeuvres du collectif pour leur collection permanente. C’est le cas par exemple de la HeK Basel (Displuvium, 2019) et l’Art Foundation PAX (The Weather Followers, 2018).

Tout en continuant d’exposer son travail dans des musées et développer des collaborations avec des galeries, Fragmentin a l’ambition de rendre l’art et leurs débats plus accessibles, en proposant notamment des interventions artistiques en montagne, dans l’espace urbain (Kunst am Bau), dans une église ou en créant des expérience en ligne.

Fragmentin a été lauréat de plusieurs prix: l'App Art Award au ZKM de Karlsruhe en 2017, le Pax Art Award en 2018 à la HeK pendant Art Basel, et le Prix du Rayonnement de la Fondation Vaudoise pour la Culture 2019 au nouveau MCBA à Lausanne. De plus, depuis 2017, le trio a été nominé pour plusieurs récompenses artistiques: Lumen Prize (2017-2019), le Aesthetica Art Prize (2020) et l’Art Laguna Prize (2020).

En 2015, Fragmentin a effectué une résidence artistique de trois mois au CERN à Genève dans le cadre du programme COLLIDE (Arts at CERN). Cette expérience leur a permis de poser les jalons de projets mêlant science, art et technologie en collaboration avec des scientifiques du campus de Meyrin.

En février 2019, Fragmentin a inauguré sa première exposition individuelle à la HeK en participant à l’exposition Schweizer Medienkunst avec !Mediengruppe Bitnik et Lauren Huret.

À la suite d’un concours organisé par Pro Helvetia, la proposition artistique de Fragmentin a été choisi pour représenter la Suisse à la 14ème édition de la Quadriennale de Prague. Exposée à Prague du 6 au 16 Juin 2019, «Artificial Arcadia: measured and adjustable(?) landscapes», élaborée en collaboration avec Kosmos architectes, est consacrée aux transitions hybrides entre les paysages naturels, techniques et numériques de Suisse.

Depuis 2016, Fragmentin a été invité à organiser plusieurs workshops tels que: “Reintroducing Randomness: Artistic & Technological Urban Interventions” au Musée d'art numérique de Zurich (MuDA), “BYOP” à la Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) ou “Hacking Nature” qui a eu lieu pendant l’ “Alps Art Academy” en été 2020 à Tenna (CH).

Les trois artistes interviennent régulièrement pour des conférences ou de l’enseignement dans des établissement d’enseignement supérieur et des institutions telles que l'ECAL (Lausannne,CH), la HEAD (Genève,CH) ou la HeK (Bâle,CH).

Du 6 au 17 Octobre 2021, se déroulera "Binominale", le premier projet curatorial de Fragmentin: un nouveau type d'événement artistique - inspiré de l'art conceptuel des années 1960 - dans lequel des binômes d'artistes de différents pays s’échangent des instructions sur la manière de recréer ou de réinterpréter à distance l’œuvres de chacun. Les œuvres qui en résultent sont ensuite exposées simultanément - sur place et en ligne - par deux institutions partenaires dans les pays d'origine des artistes (La Becque, la Tour de Peilz (CH) et le Pier 17 from Swissnex San Francisco (US)). Le projet encourage la co-création et la production locale. En supprimant les voyages, il vise également un impact écologique minimal.

Invité par l'hospitalité artistique de Saint-François, le trio a dévoilé PARABOLES ulx-56834 le 17 juin 2021, une installation sculpturale sonore et collaborative prenant la forme d'un "ready-made assisté" au centre de l'église Saint-François à Lausanne (CH).

Artistes

David Colombini
*1989, Lausanne

Marc Dubois
*1985, Bâle

  • Bachelor: ECAL, Lausanne
  • Since 2018: Creative coding teacher at ECAL

Laura Perrenoud
*1991, Lausanne

  • Bachelor: ECAL, Lausanne
  • Since 2019: Visiting lecturer at ECAL

Contact

Fragmentin
C/O univercité #208
Chemin du Closel 5
1020 Renens, CH


mailInstaVimeo Map

Merci

Merci

Foundation Vaudoise pour la Culture
Swiss Cultural Fund UK
Pro Helvetia
Art Foundation Pax
Canton de Vaud
Ville de Lausanne
Ville de Renens
Migros pourcent culturel
Arts at CERN

f

Biography

Fragmentin is an artist collective based in Lausanne, Switzerland, founded in 2014 and composed by three ECAL (Lausanne University of Art and Design) alumni: Laura Nieder (*1991, Lausanne), David Colombini (*1989, Lausanne) and Marc Dubois (*1985, Basel).

At the crossroads of art and engineering, Fragmentin’s work questions the impact of the digital on everyday life by investigating these technologies' disposition towards control and opacity. Fragmentin's works are often conceived as spaces for discussion on crucial contemporary themes and issues such as climate change.

Through sculpture, installation, video, interaction and performance, the studio’s artworks demystify complex systems and reveal the tension between emergent technologies and society: participants are driven to act-out a dystopic choreography in an experience which questions virtual reality as medium (2199, 2016). A web-app connected to a meteorological sculpture bursts serendipity into your digital life by using pollution levels to glitch selfies; sunlight intensity to destroy data and the rhythm of the rain to broadcast matching music (The Weather Followers, 2017). An atrium where visitors can witness a rain creating disturbing patterns and illustrating notorious geoengineered weather events recounted on separate screens (Displuvium, 2019). A smartphone exposed to extreme temperatures reflects on its own inadequacies, in an environment marked by catastrophic climate change (Your phone needs to cool down, 2019). An online broadcast of chimerical and non-decipherable images in constant evolution aggregates, with the help of filters, the five most viewed videos of youtube on a semantic field defined by the artists. (burningcollection.tv, 2020). A pyramidal sculpture and Virtual Reality experience - occuring at the top of mount Schlüchtli (2283m) - questions the integration of digital and infrastructural technologies in the natural alpine landscape (N1-Observatory, 2020) and finally: a series of still images and generative videos on the topic of Post-digital archaeology (Obsology, 2021).

Fragmentin’s work has been exhibited in Switzerland at the Haus der elektronischen Künste HeK (Basel, CH), Kunsthalle Zurich (Zurich, CH), The Mapping Festival (Geneva, CH), The Landart Biennale Art Safiental (Tenna, CH), NOV gallery (Geneva, CH) and la Becque (La Tour-de-Peilz, CH). The trio’s installations have also travelled to: the Arsenal (Venice, IT), The ZKM (Karlsruhe, DE), Jeu de Paume (Paris, FR), The Kunstraum (Vienna, AU), the Centre Culturel Suisse (Paris, France), the Prague Quadrennial of Performance Art and Space (Prague, CZ), The Mirage Festival (Lyon, FR), the Getxophoto festival in Bilbao (Spain), Cairotronica (Egypt), The Shenzhen media art festival (China), The Cello Factory Gallery (London, UK), The National Theatre (Londres, UK) and to the York Art Gallery (York, UK). 

Several institutions have acquired Fragmentin's works for their permanent collection. These include: HeK Basel (Displuvium, 2019) and the Art Foundation PAX (The Weather Followers, 2018).

While continuing to exhibit their work in museums and to develop collaborations with galleries, Fragmentin aims to make art and its debates more accessible to the audience and more rooted in the public space, notably by proposing interventions in natural landscapesurban spaces (Art for Architecture), inside a church or by creating online experiences.

The three artists have been awarded several prizes: the App Art Award at the ZKM in Karlsruhe in 2017, the Pax Art Award in 2018 at the HeK during Art Basel, and the Prix du Rayonnement de la Fondation Vaudoise pour la Culture 2019 at the new MCBA in Lausanne. In addition, since 2017, the trio has been nominated for several art awards: the Lumen Prize (2017 - 2019), the Aesthetica Art Prize (2020) and the Art Laguna Prize (2020).

In 2015, Fragmentin spent three months in residence at CERN as part of the COLLIDE (Arts at CERN) program. This experience has allowed them to lay the groundwork for projects intersecting science, art and technology, in collaboration with physicists operating from the Geneva campus.

In February 2019, Fragmentin inaugurated his first solo exhibition at the HeK by participating in the exhibition Schweizer Medienkunst with !Mediengruppe Bitnik and Lauren Huret.

Following a competition organized by Pro Helvetia, Fragmentin’s artistic proposal was chosen to represent Switzerland at the 14th edition of the Prague Quadrennial – the largest scenography platform in the world. Exhibited in Prague from June 6 to 16, 2019,“Artificial Arcadia: measured and adjustable(?) landscapes”, developed in collaboration with Kosmos architects, focuses on hybrid transitions between natural, technical and digital landscapes of Switzerland.

Since 2016, Fragmentin has been invited to hold several workshops such as:Reintroducing Randomness: Artistic & Technological Urban Interventions at the Musée d’Art Digital, Zurich (MuDA) or “BYOP” at the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) or "Hacking Nature" which took place during the "Alps Art Academy" in summer 2020 in Tenna (CH).

The three artists regularly give lectures or teach at universities and institutions such as ECAL (Lausanne,CH), HEAD (Geneva,CH), EPFL (architecture), the University of Art in Lucerne or the HeK (Basel,CH)

From 1 to 18 December 2021, Fragmentin will initiate its first curatorial project entitled "Binominale": a new type of artistic event - inspired by the 1960s conceptual art - in which artist pairs from different countries exchange instructions on how to recreate or re-perform each other’s artworks remotely. The resulting artworks are then simultaneously exhibited – on site and online – by two partnering institutions in the artists’ home countries (La Becque, la Tour de Peilz (CH) and at Bass and Reiner gallery (US)). It encourages co-creation and the local sourcing of materials and production. By removing transportation, it also aims for a minimal ecological impact.

Invited by the artistic hospitality of Saint-François, the trio unveiled PARABOLES ulx-56834 on June 17, 2021, a sound and collaborative sculptural installation in the form of an "assisted readymade" which was visible in the center of Saint-François church in Lausanne (CH) until the 26th of September 2021.

In 2022, they exhibit at C/O Berlin (DE), at manoir de Martigny (CH), Art Biesenthal (Berlin) and - as a result of their residency in Verbier in April 2022 - at the Verbier-3D sculpture park (CH).

Artists

David Colombini
*1989, Lausanne

Marc Dubois
*1985, Bâle

  • Bachelor: ECAL, Lausanne (2014)
  • Since 2018: Creative coding teacher at ECAL

Laura Nieder
*1991, Lausanne

  • Bachelor: ECAL, Lausanne (2014)
  • Since 2019: Teacher at ECAL

Contact

Fragmentin
C/O univercité #208
Chemin du Closel 5
1020 Renens, CH


mailInstaVimeo Map

Thanks

Thanks

Fondation Vaudoise pour la Culture
Swiss Cultural Fund UK
Pro Helvetia
Art Foundation Pax
Canton de Vaud
Ville de Lausanne
Ville de Renens
Migros pourcent culturel
Arts at CERN
Hospitalité artistique de Saint-François